Sunday 23rd April 2023 12:10 St Mary's Church



Attendees

Godfrey Akatubi, Rosemary Akatubi, Judith Bird, Esther Boluogun, Denis Brazell, Elizabeth Brazell, Alison Carter, Ian Chadwell, Ginny Cornish, Richard Cornish, Rebecca Dawkins, Ben de Waal, Sue De Waal, Craig Docherty, Val Docherty, Ruth Downing, Maureen Eaglesfield, Victoria Fasham, Caroline Fereday, Laura Gilyead, John Gregg, John Grosvenor, John Halsall, Judith Halsall, Frank Herbert, Hazel Herbert, Phyllis Hoare, Nicholas Lee, Judith Mackay, Jean Middleton, Christine Midgley, Debbie O'Donoghue, Christine Oakley Jones, James Parry, Benjamin Prentice, Bev Reynolds, John Reynolds, Joyce Ross, Helen Snow, Daniel Tang, Rosanne Tang, Ian Thorley, Audrey Tomkins, Avril Williams, Annabel Williamson, Mark Winstone, Andrew Yates, Victoria Yates

St Mary's Bearwood Annual Meeting of Parishioners

Apologies for absence were received from Johanna Baker and Ben Carter.

Rev Ben Baker presented the **Resolution (a) to rescind previous resolution of maximum terms of office**. The resolution to rescind the previous resolution that removed limits to the number of consecutive terms one can serve as church warden without break, returning to the position that church wardens can only serve up to six consecutive one year terms before having a two year break was proposed by Rev Ben Baker, seconded by Christine Midgley and agreed by attendees.

Election of Church Wardens: Francis William Herbert and Benjamin Prentice were elected to serve for 2023-24.

St Mary's Bearwood Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Apologies for absence were received from Johanna Baker and Ben Carter.

The **Minutes from the previous meeting** on Sunday 24th April 2022 with additions noted were agreed as a true record. This was proposed by John Grosvenor, seconded by John Gregg and agreed by attendees.

There were no matters arising from the previous minutes.

Rev Ben Baker presented the **Resolutions (b), (c), (d), (e) in relation to terms of office and maximum PCC size**.

- b) The resolution to rescind the previous resolution that introduced one year terms for PCC members without limit, returning to the position that PCC members are elected for three year terms, in which 1/3 of members are elected each year on a rolling scheme which would be effective from this meeting and the PCC would determine amongst themselves who would take this year a 3 year, 2 year, or 1 year term to set the rolling scheme was proposed by Rev Ben Baker, seconded by Elizabeth Brazell and agreed by attendees with one abstention.
- c) The resolution to comply with the direction of the Church representation rules that someone can serve a maximum of two consecutive terms of service as Deanery Synod representative before a three-year break was proposed by Rev Ben Baker, seconded by John Reynolds and agreed by attendees with one abstention.
- d) The resolution to introduce a maximum number of consecutive years of continuous service on the PCC for nine years before a one-year break (where PCC members have already served 9 years, they would be given a dispensation to stand for one more elected term from

- 2023) was proposed by Rev Ben Baker, seconded by Ben de Waal and agreed by attendees with two votes against.
- e) The resolution to introduce a maximum number of lay elected PCC members at 9 irrespective of electoral roll size was proposed by Rev Ben Baker, seconded by Victoria Fasham and agreed unanimously by attendees.

Rev Ben Baker presented the **Electoral roll** report noting that the roll had increased this year with the addition of 22 new names, so stands at 90. Christine Oakley-Jones was appointed as the electoral roll officer. This was proposed by Rev Ben Baker, seconded by Alison Carter and agreed unanimously by attendees.

Election of Deanery Synod representatives: Ian Thorley, John Reynolds and Lin Singh-Barrington were appointed to serve until 2026.

Election of PCC members: Alison Carter, Victoria Fasham, Laura Gilyead, Helen Snow, Daniel Tang and Ben de Waal were appointed. It was noted that the PCC would determine amongst themselves who would take a 3-year, 2-year, or 1-year term to set the rolling scheme.

Rev Ben Baker noted that Christine Midgley had put herself forward for election but is a month shy of being on the electoral roll for six months. Therefore, Christine Midgley would become a PCC member from May 2023.

lan Thorley presented the **Wardens report** outlining the activities and changes which had taken place over the previous year and thanking all those who had contributed to the life of the church and supported the wardens in their roles.

lan Thorley presented the **Fabric report** sharing details of the inspections and tests regarding the church building and the updates made as a result of the reports and other situations.

Ben de Waal presented the **Financial report** noting the healthy position of the church finances due to increased giving and grant funding. He shared the expectations over the coming years and noted the giving options and pew replacement project.

It was proposed that Alan Clements was to be **appointed as Independent Examiner** by Ben de Waal, seconded by Christine Oakley-Jones and agreed unanimously by attendees.

Ruth Downing presented for the **Buildings Development Group** explaining the process of replacing the pews completed so far and moving forward. She also noted the Statement of Needs which was being processed by the group for the future of the buildings.

Christine Midgley presented for the **Gardening Group** sharing details of the group which had been started to build relationships in the community and work on the church gardens. She also explained that an application had been submitted to the BBC to host Gardeners Question Time at the church.

Rev Ben Baker presented the **Chairman's address** sharing information from the past year and encouraging attendees into the year ahead.

There was no any other business.

Rev Ben Baker closed the meeting in prayer at 13:20.